Complaints Committee

An important part of our work is accomplished through regulatory committees that are established to help fulfill our mandate of public protection. Our regulatory committees function at arm’s length from our day-to-day work and include volunteer nurses and members of the public who make objective decisions related to the registration and licensing, practice and conduct of nurses in Nova Scotia.    

The Complaints Committee acts as a screening committee by resolving less serious complaints and referring serious allegations of misconduct, incompetence or conduct unbecoming to the Professional Conduct Committee

This committee must include at minimum 5 LPNs, 7 RNs, 3 NPs and 5 public representatives. Upon receipt of a referral or a request for review of a complaint, the Chair will appoint a panel of at least 3 Committee members to act as the Complaints Committee, including at least: 1 public representative, 1 registrant with the same designation as the designation of the respondent; and 1 other person as determined by the Chair. Click here for the procedure to select a panel.


Complaints Committee members are approved by the NSCN Board.  The current members are as follows:

  • Agnes MacDonald LPN (Chair)
  • Janet Armstrong LPN
  • Barry Brewer LPN (Vice Chair)
  • Cathy Caume RN
  • Daphne Connolly RN
  • Melissa Currie RN
  • Lora Davis RN
  • Melody Deveau LPN
  • Melanie Dunlop RN/NP
  • Cheryl Ernst LPN
  • Kim Fleming RN
  • John Garroway
  • Lori Giffin RN/NP
  • Kelly Lynn Goudey LPN
  • Marilyn Greenwood LPN
  • Dermot Jardine
  • Lena MacDonald RN/NP
  • Deb Mander RN
  • Ron McGillvary
  • James McRae
  • Jill Morse RN (Vice Chair)
  • Kate Ormiston Muir RN
  • Dan Seguin
  • Jody Sheffar RN
  • Suzanne Sheppard-Jackman RN
  • Cheryl Smith RN/NP
  • Nick Swift RN
  • Angela Whynot RN
  • Cheryl Young RN


In the spirit of transparency, we publish the terms of reference for each of our committees. The terms provide an in-depth look at the work and requirements of the committee. Click here to open the Complaints Committee Terms of Reference

If you have any questions, reach out to us at

About Their Work

Learn more about this committee’s work by exploring: