Professional Conduct Committee

An important part of our work is accomplished through regulatory committees that are established to help fulfill our mandate of public protection. Our regulatory committees function at arm’s length from our day-to-day work and include volunteer nurses and members of the public who make objective decisions related to the registration and licensing, practice and conduct of nurses in Nova Scotia.    

The Professional Conduct Committee conducts formal hearings into the allegations referred by the Complaints Committee. For each matter, a panel hears evidence to determine whether one or more of the allegations against a nurse can be proven true, and if so, whether such proof amounts to a finding of professional misconduct, incompetence, incapacity and/or conduct unbecoming the profession.

Upon receipt of a referral, the Chair will appoint a panel of at least 3 Committee members to act as the Professional Conduct Committee, including at least: 1 public representative, 1 registrant with the same designation as the designation of the respondent; and 1 other person as determined by the Chair. Click here for the procedure to select a panel.


Professional Conduct Committee members are approved by the NSCN Board.  The current members are as follows:

  • Agniezka Grabowska-Comeau RN    
  • Amanda d'Entremont LPN    
  • Anne Burgess LPN    
  • Aprill Negus NP    
  • Carolyn Power RN    
  • David Coles, KC PR    
  • Deb Vandewater RN    
  • Debra Theriault RN    
  • Elaine Rivers PR    
  • Jennifer Carr LPN    
  • Jennifer MacDougall RN    
  • Jennifer Riis NP    
  • Jennifer Ross PR (Vice Chair)
  • John McNeil PR    
  • Kelli Lynn Goudey LPN    
  • Kimberley Lamarche NP    
  • Linda Hale RN    
  • Loretta Manning, KC PR (Chair)
  • Sandra Beumer RN    
  • Susan Johnson RN    
  • Tracy Polley LPN    
  • Trudy Campbell NP    
  • Vanessa Quigley RN    


In the spirit of transparency, we publish the terms of reference for each of our committees. The terms provide an in-depth look at the work and requirements of the committee. Click here to open the Professional Conduct Committee Terms of Reference

If you have any questions, reach out to us at

About Their Work

Learn more about this committee’s work by exploring: