Registration and Licensing Committee

An important part of our work is accomplished through regulatory committees that are established to help fulfill our mandate of public protection. Our regulatory committees function at arm’s length from our day-to-day work and include volunteer nurses and members of the public who make objective decisions related to the registration and licensing, practice and conduct of nurses in Nova Scotia.    

The Registration and Licensing Committee reviews any matter when an NP requests to change their client population and determines whether the NP is required to complete a competence assessment and/or bridging education before they can proceed. Upon referral from the CEO, the committee also determines whether an LPN, RN, NP meets the requirements for registration and/or licensure.

Upon receipt of a population change request from an NP or a request for review of any matter pertaining to licensure requirements, the Chair will appoint a panel of at least 3 Committee members to act as the Registration and Licensing Committee, including at least: 1 public representative, 1 registrant with the same designation as the designation of the applicant; and 1 other person as determined by the Chair. Click here for the procedure to select a panel.


Registration and Licensing Committee members are approved by the NSCN Board. The current members are as follows: 

  • Barry Brewer LPN    
  • Christine Hines RN    
  • Dawn McKenna LPN    
  • James McRae PR    
  • Jeannette Combes RN  
  • Kimberley Lamarche NP  
  • Lindsay Burke RN    
  • Maria Marshall RN    
  • Marilyn Greenwood LPN    
  • Melanie Dunlop NP    
  • Paula Wadden RN    
  • Rosita MacNeil LPN    
  • Ruth Martin-Misener NP (Chair)
  • Sara Gillett PR 
  • Tracy Brown NP    


In the spirit of transparency, we publish the terms of reference for each of our committees. The terms provide an in-depth look at the work and requirements of the committee. Click here to open the Registration and Licensing Committee Terms of Reference

If you have any questions, reach out to us at